Whenever the word “gain” is used, the card is placed into your discard pile. As per page 4 (bottom) – GAINING, TAKING AND DRAWING CARDS: “Whenever you gain a card, put it into your discard pile.” As per Player Reference Card – GAIN: Place the new card into your discard pile.
Leftover Coins cards are effectively out of the game. There is a spot on the board, marked “Coins” where they can be placed.
No. In the rules Symbols and Text are never spoken about as separate items. As an example, on page 12 -SACRIFICE “Ex:’Ragnar uses the 2 Silver on his Hacksilver card to help him buy a Longboat card. After that, he wants to use the ability of Priests of Uppsala, which requires a sacrifice, but he can’t sacrifice the Hacksilver card that he used for Silver’ “. If you notice the Hacksilver card has the silver symbol, with the number 2 beside it. Without the text (2) the symbol would have no meaning by itself. The same is true for the blue Influence on the lower part of the card; without the +1 text, the Influence symbol would have no meaning.
Yes. As per page 12 – BURY: “You can use the silver of the buried card before burying it.”
Yes. Phases 3 and 4 are completely separate. As long as the card is still around in phase 4 (ie: you have not sacrificed the card), you can use it in phase 4. Rules examples: The diagrams show a visual representation of a turn being played. Diagram on page 7: This diagram shows the silver value on the longboat being used for purchase. Diagram on page 10: this diagram shows a continuation of the same turn, with the longboat being used on a lone raid. Diagram on page 15: this shows the entire sample round. On point 3 the silver from the longboat is used to buy, and on point 4 the longboat is being used on the Lone Raid. The only time cards are spoken of as not being able to be used in a later phase is on page 12, under BURY and SACRIFICE.
The action phase. See Action phase; Raid Party, in rules (p. 9). Full Explanation: Starting on the first round, and until a player selects the Raid Party action, the first player marker (Raven side of the marker) moves clockwise at the beginning of each round. Until an earl has been determined by the Raid Party, The first player marker moves on the the next player at the End of Round (p. 10). When a player reveals Raid Party in the Action Phase, the earl is determined at that time. The Earl then keeps the earl marker (Earl side of the marker) until a new Earl is chosen. This may mean that the player goes first for multiple turns.
Yes. On p.8, under defend it explains that your total defense is your Base Defense of 5 plus your total Power. Additionally, on the Quick Raid card, under Defend it states “Base Defense of 5 plus Power 2 on Character Shield and any other Power bonuses on the cards you have.
1) When you play Buried Hoard, you may place a Coins or Hacksilver into your Buried pile, under your Deck (see page 6 of the rules for a reference). 2) When you Defend, you may place a Coins, Hacksilver or Treasure into your Buried pile, under your Deck (this means that if you played Buried Hoard and Defended, you Bury 2 cards). 3) When you Defend, After your option to Bury a card, you may attempt to Acquire a card (p.8). This means you may use the cards in your Bury pile to Acquire, or purchase, a Raid card. The cost of the Raid card equals the Raid cards Defense. 4) When you Acquire, Coin or Hacksilver cards used to Acquire are removed from your Buried cards pile, and returned to the top of their respective piles. Treasure used to Acquire is placed into your Raid pile, under your discard pile.
Under the Action Defend section (p.8), specific rules are outlined that only relate to the player taking the action Defend. Under the Action Attack section (p.8), general rules are outlined that may apply to the player defending, dependent on what action the defending player has chosen.
YES! Please be patient with us while we bring them out. We are looking at producing 20 card expansion packs. Each expansion will focus on enhancing a different element of the game, and even adding new features.
The Limited Edition comes with sleeves and 6 promo cards and all of the stretch goals unlocked through the Kickstarter Campaign. We may also add additional items to the Limited edition aside from those found above. The base game will have all applicable stretch goals. Keep an eye on our project updates to find out what these may be. The sleeves by themselves have a retail value of $29. even without any unlocked stretch goals this is a significant savings on the cost of the sleeves